skip navigation
Home News Team Crush Schedule FAN ZONE Partners store

Hall of Fame


11/16/2012, 10:30am MST
By Edmonton Rush

The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame will induct eight new members and two teams on Saturday

Edmonton, AB---The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame will induct eight new members and two teams on Saturday, November 17. Rush General Manager and Head Coach Derek Keenan is one of the new inductees.

Derek 'Jammer' Keenan played in seven seasons (1976-1982) with the Oshawa Green Gaels Junior A lacrosse team where he was a perennial Top 10 league point scorer. Keenan played his entire nine Major Series seasons (1983-89, 1992 & 1995) with the Brooklin Redmen, winning three Mann Cup titles in four years (1985, 1987 & 1988). He was the OLA Major Series Top Scorer and MVP in both 1987 and 1988. In 212 career games, he scored 342 goals and 437 assists for 779 points and 361 penalty minutes. In 1991, Keenan played one season with the Whitby Steelhawks of the Canadian NLL winter pro league where he was the league Top Scorer and MVP. In three Major Indoor Lacrosse League seasons, Keenan netted 123 points in 27 games with Buffalo and Toronto winning two Champions Cups with the Buffalo Bandits (1992-93). Derek began his NLL coaching career in 2003 with the Toronto Rock with stops in Anaheim, Portland and currently Edmonton. Keenan was inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Association Hall of Fame in 2009.

"The induction is very fitting for Coach Keenan, he was a tremendous dedicated player and it is continuous into his coaching career" states President Dave Jamieson.

"Our fans, staff and ownership congratulate Coach Keenan and acknowledge his accomplishments as a player and look forward to the day of his induction as a General Manager and Head Coach to the Canadian Hall of Fame."

General Manager and Head Coach Keenan is entering this fourth season with the Rush and last season being the most successful for the team with a run to the 2012 NLL Championship Cup.

Tag(s): Home