skip navigation
Home News Team Crush Schedule FAN ZONE Partners store


05/06/2013, 1:30pm MDT
By Edmonton Rush

Six of the seven rookies voted on to the team represent the West Division

Edmonton, AB ---The National Lacrosse League has announced the NLL All-Rookie Team for the 2013 season. Curtis Knight and Mark Matthews holding honours for the Edmonton Rush.  Six of the seven rookies honored represent the West Division including Calgary Roughnecks forward Joe Resetarits, Colorado Mammoth transition player Joey Cupido, and Minnesota Swarm forward Shayne Jackson and transition player Kiel Matisz with Buffalo Bandits transition player Dhane Smith the lone representative from the East Division,

Knight ranked fourth in both rookie scoring with 46 points (19+27) and assists (27) while finishing fifth in goals (19) and tied for sixth in loose balls (51) among rookies in 16 games played for the Rush. The Oshawa, Ontario native, who played collegiately at University of Guelph and was Edmonton's first-round (8th overall) draft pick in 2012, won two Rookie of the Week awards.

Matthews led all rookies and ranked fifth in the league with a team-high 38 goals, third-most by a rookie in NLL history, while scoring in all 16 games during the regular season. Matthews, Edmonton's first overall pick of the 2012 Draft, led all NLL rookies and finished second on the Rush and 15th in the league with 69 points (38+31). The Oshawa, Ontario native, who played collegiately at the University of Denver, won three Rookie of the Month, one Offensive Player of the Week and two Rookie of the Week awards.

2014 Season Tickets are now on –sale and available at the Rush Office by calling 780 732-RUSH.

Tag(s): Home